ICHTH General Assembly

Poznań Branch of the Polish Academy of Sciences, 26 August 2022

Minutes

In attendance: Olufunke Adeboye, Davide Cadeddu, Antoon De Baets, Ewa Domańska, Estevão de Rezende Martins, Zoltán Simon, Marek Tamm, Edoardo Tortarolo, Verónica Tozzi Thompson, Edward Wang.

In virtual attendance: Vilmos Erős, Efi Gazi, Wuyi He, Branimir Jankovic, Antonis Liakos, Chris Lorenz, Allan Megill, Volodymyr Sklokin, Aurimas Svedas, Daniel Woolf, Xupeng Zhang, Zuocheng Zhang.

After a round of self-introduction, Ewa Domańska chaired the meeting. She first paid tribute to the deceased board members: Georg Iggers, Hayden White, Fernando Sánchez Marcos, Ejii Takemura, and Richard T. Vann.

I. President report by Ewa (to be found <u>here</u>).

Elected president at the last CISH congress in Ji'nan, China, in 2015, Ewa Domańska has served for seven years, due to the Covid-19 outbreak. She was the first woman ever assuming the position.

- 1. Board meetings: During the past seven years, three in-person conferences (Brazil, Estonia, and Greece) were organized where board meetings were held. After the Covid-19 outbreak, board meetings were held online several times.
- 2. Membership: at the time when Ewa Domańska became president, there were 66 ICHTH members on the list among whom 41 were active, fee-paying members. The sex ratio was 30

male: 11 female. Over the past seven years, 38 new members were recruited. On the board of 13, 11 were men and 3 were women. The dominance of Western European members has been neutralized by a substantial increase in representation of scholars from Asia (China and Korea) and Latin America (Argentina, Brazil, and Mexico), as well as of scholars from the Baltic states, the Balkans and Eastern Europe.

- 3. Constitution: based on a French version, it was revised a few times under the presidencies of Antonis Liakos and Ewa Domańska. It is available on the website.
- 4. ICHTH Book Prize: It has been established since 2011 and awarded twice: 2016 and 2018. There will be another one awarded this year with two laureates.
- 5. Finance: Though without a bank account, ICHTH remained solvent through this year. Over the past years, Edoardo Tortarolo and Sacha Zala both provided help in establishing a bank account, but to no avail. The Commission is not in debt and we were able to pay CISH fee for 2022.
- 6. Representation at CISH: ICHTH has been very active in taking part in the present CISH Congress, a fact well recognized by the CISH leadership.
- 7. Relationship with *Storia della Storiografia* and Networks: ICHTH maintains active relations with both.
- 8. Cultivating and promoting exchanges with retired board members and memorizing deceased members.
- 9. Improved ICHTH website previously created by Edward Wang. He maintained it up until the present and designed the ICHTH letterhead for better communication.

10. Conclusion: hardworking ethic and strong support of the board helped the presidency over the period.

II. New Member Recommendations:

Six new members were recommended by Antonis, Marek, and Ewa. They are:

Veronika Čapská, Piotr Kowalewski Jahromi, Marta Kurkowska-Budzan, Alexandra

Lianeri, Zoltán Simon, Eugen Zeleňák

III. Treasurer's Report by Marek:

ICHTH has paid the membership fee to CISH through this year and its current balance is 142.58 Euro. The challenge remains that, as of now, it does not have a bank account.

IV. Book Price by Edoardo:

The prize this year is jointly offered by ICHTH and INTH (International Network for Theory of History). Two books were selected among 23 submissions. The two laureates were Hans Ruin and Zoltán Simon, the former received the prize on Zoom and the latter attended in person.

Submitted respectfully Edward Wang