## **ICHTH General Meeting**

## August 28, 2015, 14:00-17:00 Jinan, China

## In Attendance:

Antoon De Baets, Stefan Berger, Ewa Domanska, Norbert Fabian, Antonis Liakos, Chris Lorenz, Michihiro Okamoto, Attila Pok, Lorina Repina, Masayuki Sato, Edoardo Tortarolo, Rolf Torstendahl, Chikara Uchida, Edward Wang, Sacha Zala

Antonis Liakos (ICHTH President 2010-15) gave his report (full report will be available on the website once it works out) about the activities he and others organized during the past five years, including conferences and symposia held in Sofia, Bochum, Poznan, Ouro Preto, Cyprus and Athens. At these meetings board meetings were also held, attended by board members who were present at the occasions.

Liakos then reported that the establishment of the ICHTH Prize to encourage and reward works on the study of historical theory and historiography. The first ICHTH Prize was conferred to Berber Bevernage in Bochum in 2013. He thanked the Prize committee (chaired by Chris Lorenz) for their work.

Liakos also announced the retirement of the following board members: Frank Ankersmit, Diana Mishkova, Jörn Rüsen and Hayden White; Masayuki Sato's term as *ex officio* also expired this year.

He then reported the results of the nomination committee (consisting of Antonis Liakos, Masayuki Sato, Edoardo Tortarolo and Ewa Domanska) for new board members: Berber Bevernage, Dipesh Charkrabarty, Veronica Tozzi, Eiji Takemura.

The committee nominates Ewa Domanska as ICHTH president for the 2015-2020 term.

Liakos read parts of the newly drafted ICHTH constitution for discussion. Ewa Domanska then proposed certain changes. As the draft was not circulated among all participants and contains certain language issues, the meeting decided to have Stefan Berger and Edward Wang to revise the draft for further discussion and approval.

Edward Wang (ICHTH Treasurer and General Secretary, 2010-15) gave his report (it will be available online once it works out) on the commission's financial situation. After collecting membership fees of this year and the contributions made by Hayden White for the ICHTH Prize, our bank account now stands at \$5060. He mentioned the difficulties in establishing good contact with Laurent Tissot (CISH Treasurer) for paying the dues. As a result, ICHTH is now three years or more behind (paid two years in 2014 which was said

to have not received by the CISH but lacking more details); the yearly due is 500 Swiss Frank, or about \$650.

Wang also talked about the difficulty in collecting membership fees and how to offer benefit to our members for their payments, such as letting them take a more active part in ICHTH conferences and symposia.

Having served as secretary general and treasurer for ten years, Wang expressed his intention to step down from both positions.

The meeting unanimously approved the nominations. So the new ICHTH board is as follows:

Stefan Berger, Berber Bevernage, Dipesh Chakrabarty, Qineng Chen, Ewa Domanska, Chris Lorenz, Estevão de Rezende Martins, Sanjay Seth, Eiji Takemura, Edoardo Tortarolo, Veronica Tozzi, Edward Wang, and Antonis Liakos as non-voting *ex officio*.

Ewa Domanska as newly elected ICHTH president thanked everyone for their trust and then gave her short remarks on two issues: 1) how to expand our membership, reaching more scholars interested in the field around the world, such as making regular contacts with associations on historical theory and historiography in various countries; 2) how to make ICHTH more inclusive in order to retain our current members and attract new ones, especially from regions outside Euro-America. She vowed that as new president, she would make new changes in order to keep ICHTH alive and relevant to all those interested in historical theory and historiography.

In addition, Ewa Domanska made the following suggestions:

- 1. In order to make ICHTH more alive and active, each board member has specific duties: for example, Berber would be responsible for our cooperation with the International Network for Theory of History. Veronica and Estevão might be responsible for Latin America; Stefan, Chris and Edoardo for Europe; Edward and Eiji Takemura for Asia, Ewa for East-Central Europe. Ewa also strongly stressed that we need representation of Africa, Australia.
- 2. In order to form more collaborations with various institutions and journals, by September 30th, each person present at the bureau meeting in Jinan will send Ewa Domanska at least 5 contacts to scholars working in our field and representing various cultural background and regions of the world as well as titles of the journals published in different countries and related to our field. Ewa will prepare, consult with all of you and send invitation letters addressed to concrete scholars indicated by us as well as to all scholars listed on Ghent's network inviting them to join the commission. This task should be completed by October 31st.

- 3. A possibility to explore further is to publish an online newsletter of the Bureau/Commission that will be circulated among all Commission's members. Ewa also declared that she will update the Bureau's activities on the ICHTH website.
- 4. As new president, Ewa Domanska expects from the Bureau's members to be present during the Bureau's meeting. If a member cannot be present in person, he/she is obliged to participate on Skype, if at all possible.
- 5. It is decided that the Bureau's meeting is official only if at least 4 members of the Bureau are present in person.
- 6. It is also decided that if a member does not pay membership fee for three years, he/she will cease to be a member. Edward as current treasurer or his successor will send out a reminder and ask to submit the fee by the end of December 2015. If the payment is not made, the person is excluded.
- 7. Edoardo mentioned a possibility to organize a bureau meeting in 2016 in Rome. It was also discussed whether it would be possible to have a meeting in Brazil (Ouro Preto) during the conference on 'The Practical Past', 23-26 August 2016 (if at least 4 members will be present there).
- 8. The constitution drafted by Antonis will be circulated among bureau members in an updated version. The final version will be circulated among all members of the commission with a request to make comments and suggestions for changes and additions.

The meeting elected Stefan Berger as new secretary general and Edward Wang as new program chair on the promise that a new treasurer would soon be appointed. Ewa Domanska has agreed to maintain and update the ICHTH Website; details are to be worked out between Domanska and Wang.

Chris Lorenz agreed to chair the ICHTH Prize Committee for the upcoming nomination: nomination and self-nomination of books are due the end of 2015; the Prize committee concludes its work by May 2016 and the ICHTH makes an announcement about the winner in July 2016.

Having expressed thanks to the work of the previous board, the meeting was adjourned at 17:20.

Prepared by Edward Q. Wang and Stefan Berger September 4, 2015